6 of my favorite VS Code themes right now

6 of my favorite VS Code themes right now

·

2 min read

Your working environment is impacted by your physical workspace as well as mindset. Do you light a 🕯️candle to be more relaxed? Play a certain 🎧playlist to increase focus? Change your VS Code theme from "light mode" -> "dark mode" -> a different theme daily (or multiple times a day) to set the vibe-of-day? Below are my current favs to keep me focused, inspired, and motivated.

1. Solarized Light

Some days, I just need a bright theme to get me awake and feeling light. This theme overlays earthy tones over a neutral background to make you feel grounded as you grind out your code. And it reminds me of my animal crossing island I haven't visited in several weeks! This theme is best on a rainy day with some of your favorite tunes playing in the background. SCR-20220423-kjk.png

2. Monokai (dimmed)

This is my "I need to focus" theme. I find it super easy to see the hierarchy of code with classes in red, function in orange, strings in green, and integers in green. Not only is this easy on the eyes with a charcoal background, but I'm able to find what I need easier and faster. SCR-20220425-duh.png

3. Palenight Operator

This theme is meant for cozy, lazy, late-nights. Make your favorite drink: hot/cold coffee, matcha, tea, non-alcoholic, alcoholic... SCR-20220425-dyp.png

4. Jellyfish

I just liked the name of this one and clicked on it, lo and behold, it's a beautiful theme that submerges you to the depths of the ocean floor. Creatures here have evolved to withstand the harshest environmental conditions, just like humans. SCR-20220425-dz0.png

5. Nebula

Ready to feel like you're in a video game interface? *cue electronic video game music* SCR-20220425-e5q.png

6. Andromeda

Ever read the book Andromeda Strain? An exciting sci-fi novel by Michael Crichton about the rise and fall of a deadly extraterrestrial organism. This theme perfectly embodies being in a laboratory and makes you feel like you are on track to uncover a mystery. SCR-20220425-e9l.png